Amaurotic Ambition

Just another WordPress.com site

When Will They Ever Learn!

leave a comment »

012I woke up this morning  at around 5:00 AM.  It is now my third night in Merryville, LA.  For the past couple of days I have been trying to gain enough information regarding the flooding along the Mississippi River to make an intelligent decision to continue eastbound.

The Adventure Cycling route map through Louisiana has me traveling alongside some of the winding, bending, Mississippi River until I reach St. Francisville, LA and cross the mighty Mississippi River by bridge.  To complicate my decision making process even further, is the fact that I have no clue of the Louisiana All The Worlds A Stage! My tent and quarters.

spillway system.  What I do know is that the Army Corp of Engineers has announced that the Morganza spillway will likely open its gate.  Should the Morganza spillway open it would be the first time 1973 and would reportedly send a torrent into the Atchafalaya River and threaten a 100-mile stretch all the way to the Gulf of Mexico.

I wonder why there is so little information regarding road closures.  It would seem logical that officials could predict which roads would be closed and how long before those roads would be available for travel.  It could be displayed on the internet for crying out loud.  I have read that officials in Louisiana were frustrated that so many people were calling and panicking.  Well you won’t convince me that Louisiana has learned very much about contingency planning and communications.  People panic when officials fail to do their job!

In the mean time, I will continue my quest for information.  It looks as though my best option is to bicycle 47 miles to Lake Charles, LA and then take a bus to St. Augustine, FL.

Written by James J. Pond

May 12, 2011 at 1:44 AM

Posted in Journal Entry

Leave a Reply

